Appreciation

It’s tragic, how I can live in such a beautiful place and not be inspired by the scenery every time I step out the door.  It’s like I’ve become desensitized, taking for granted just how amazing my little area of the world is.  I remember after 10 months in Asia, in the car ride home from the airport, I woke up just as we were coming over the crest of the mountain into our valley.  It was as if I was seeing it for the first time and maybe in a sense I was.  I was awestruck at the beauty and tranquility of the lakes, the desert mountains, the vineyards.  My eyes were as wide as a tourists eyes must be when they behold this valley I call home.

The view near our house

In remembering this feeling I am committing myself to seeing my surroundings with new eyes.  I am going to feel like a tourist and get out there and do things!  Swim more, walk more, ride more, observe more and appreciate the beauty that surrounds me.  Who says you have to be on vacation to act like you are having a vacation!  So in the months leading up to our true departure I will be on a conscious stay-cation!

About loveisliving

A mother of two, an environmentalist, and a world traveler. Packing up the kiddies and letting the world be their teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Appreciation

  1. shelly says:

    I’ve been trying to do that this summer – for myself and my sons too. Instead of watching them go down the rock cute or off the rope swing I am trying it all. Time to live like there is no tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

